Situated at the nexus of music, performance, and visual arts, Nicolas Fehr’s practice is characterized by an interweaving of pop-culture, folklore, and personal biography. Fehr grew up in Connecticut, USA, and moved to Germany at the age of ten. He studied media arts and scenography at the University of Arts And Design Karlsruhe and fine arts at the University of the Arts Bremen. He lives and works in Berlin.

Selected Projects

Hyperdusk, 2023
Galerie Anton Janizewski Berlin
stereo audio (15’58”), pitching machine, modified pendulum clock, costume pieces, textiles, drawings, Riso/lenticular/canvas prints, photographs, motors and solenoids, live performance for four voices and cello (15’)

Movements That Are Hard To Replicate, 2021-22
Brücke Museum Berlin, Weserburg Museum of Modern Art Bremen, Kunstverein Wilhelmshöhe-Ettlingen
video (5’11”), various textiles, copper pipes, wood, wire rope hoist, hoop skirt, costume pieces, dadamachines, cembalo, posters, performance (15’)

Violet, 2018-2020
Art’s Birthday Freiburg, Schauspielhaus Wien (AT), Bar Babette, Kesselhaus Berlin, ZKM Karlsruhe Klangkubus, HfG Karlsruhe, Feÿ Arts Festival (FR), Poglos (POL), Kablys (LT), Klub Depot (LV)
experimental short film (10’), two solo LPs (25', 35'), Riso prints, multi-spectral glasses, various performances

Bululú, 2017-18
Orgelfabrik Karlsruhe-Durlach, Soeht7 Berlin
4K-video and 6-channel audio loop (45’), line drawings, embroidered hoodies, aloe arborescens, PVC foil, various lights, harmonium

Music and Socials

nicolas fehr bandcamp / soundcloud / spotify / apple music / youtube / instagram
ooi web / bandcamp / youtube / instagram